Congratulations to Dale Klapmeier and the team at Cirrus for winning the Collier Trophy for 2017. Given annually by the U.S. National Aeronautic Association to those who have made the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics, this prestigious award was given for the development and introduction of the Cirrus SF-50 Vision personal jet.

First awarded in 1911, the Collier Trophy is one of aviation’s oldest awards. Prior recipients include Glenn Curtis, Orville Wright, Elmer Sperry, Charles Lawrence, Donald Douglas, Howard Hughes, William Lear, Chuck Yeager, Leonard Hobbs, William Allen and Boeing, “Kelly” Johnson, James McDonnell, Sam Williams, Russ Meyer, T.A. Wilson, and many other aviation luminaries.

The trophy is on display at the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum in Washington DC.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
%d bloggers like this: